Posted by: littlegirlyone | April 17, 2008

on the six

a few weeks ago, oatmeal girl tagged me to create a six word memoir.

well, i brainstormed, and i thought, and while i enjoyed the mental exercise immensely, i was unable to choose. sometimes choosing between things is NOT my strong point. today i was reading down through my list of options, and i realized, i’d inadvertently created a poem: twelve lines with 6 words each. i’ll share it here, i hope you enjoy it.

lg’s memior poem

fixates on lolita, even at 27

still tries to figure it out:

attempts to fit “wife” into littlegirl.

bottomless desire juxtaposes with tepid caution

always poised on the wicked edge,

dips her toes into darkness, sometimes.

gaping wide urges/ sweet candy shell.

melts for mouths; hides in hands.

sneaks between good girl and bad.

she always wanted to be seen,

a more innocent brand of exhibitionism.

sometimes imperfectly, manages to recover herself.

the “rules” of this project were to post the 6 word memoir, tag 5 people to do it, and then make sure to let the chosen ones know. since i didn’t follow any of the other rules, i’m electing out of these, too. i’d like to see any one of the talented writers on my sidebar, or any of my ever-understanding readers, try this, but i’ll leave it up to each in his or her own discretion. some people love projects and assignments (me, me, me!) and some people hate these sort of chain-email, on-the-spot things.

i would love it if anyone composed one of these and wanted to share. my comment and email boxes are open.

even though i didn’t really play by the rules myself, for those who would like to, here are the rules (from oatmeal girl’s journal):

The Rules
1. Write your own six word memoir
2. Post it on your blog and include a visual illustration if you’d like
3. Link to the person that tagged you in your post.
4. Tag five more blogs with links
5. And don’t forget to leave a comment on the tagged blogs with an invitation to play!


Responses

  1. your poem is amazing. you really are so good with words.

  2. Nicely done little girl, I can see why you could not choose, they all fit so nicely.It is nice to be reading about you again.Welcome back.

  3. why, you clever thing! you’ve taken the exercise to a whole new art form. and the poem as a whole says somuch.but i must admit, i especially love the simplicity of:”sneaks between good girl and bad.”good job.

  4. I dig your poetry. and your blog. thanks I especially loved sneaks between good girl and badx Lina

  5. your lines are delightful.i would like to try and do my own but it might take a while….smiles*x pandora sox

  6. what a lovely post to find your blog with! Just started reading, and we will be back! -His girl

  7. beautiful, beautiful beautifully done :). just lovely to read. thank you for sharing my dear!xoxoxkitty

  8. I love this. I can really relate. Glad I discovered your blog!


Leave a Reply

Categories

